Hello!

 

Hi guys! I’m fairly new to the idea of blogging. It’s not something that I’m generally good at keeping up with, so I usually just forget about trying. Not a great habit, I’m sure.

So why did I build this website? Because I know that to become an author, and to do so seriously, I’ll need an author page. WordPress seems like a good place to start, no? Eventually maybe I’ll do a mailing list, but let’s start small, shall we?

As to my writing…

I’m currently working on my “first” manuscript. The idea to write a book came to me when I was 14 or 15. Up until the point I’d been set and determined to become a marine biologist-I’d said as much since I was 5 years old-but then I realized I really sucked at math, and didn’t enjoy it enough to seriously pursue a career that required advanced courses in it. Around that time I heard about Christopher Paolini; he was 15 and his book Eragon was becoming incredibly popular in the fantasy circuit. I have no idea why it didn’t occur to me sooner that I could write books for a living. That JK Rowling, or JRR Tolkien, were real people who sat down and told the stories in their minds and made them into real tangible books. I’d written stories before… but books?

Anyway, long ramble over, I wrote a fantasy manuscript at 15. It was only maybe 75,000 words and looking at it now it needs an incredible amount of editing, but that’s I guess why I scrapped most of it and started a new rewrite which has become my current work in progress. It’s also a totally different monster; it went from being a Lord of the Rings clone to a much different fantasy that has a lot of throws to Hellenistic Polytheism and the Titan mythos.

Currently it sits right around 50,000 words, unfinished, but I know that I’m going to end up doing some massive reworking during the editing stages. I’m a serial underwriter and I know for a fact that some of my tenses have switched back and forth. The downfall of first person-keeping your tenses straight, haha.

Anywho. I’ll try to update this regularly, book progress and random babbling about who knows what. 😉 Thanks for reading, hope you have a wonderful week! ❤

~Tyffany~

2 thoughts on “Hello!

Leave a Reply

